Blog Tour: One Day in December by Josie Silver

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away.

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at their Christmas party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?

What I Thought:
It seems perhaps a little early in the year to be on a blog tour for a christmas book but, rest assured, although Josie Silver’s debut novel is called One Day in December, there are lots of other days of the year to choose from, leaving December as the anchor point in a clever way to increase the span of this book to ten years.

This book is being billed as a book for fans of Love, Actually and I’d agree that it does have the same kind of feel and, in fact, even references that movie in the first few chapters but while that perennial christmas classic interweaves the lives of a number of couples over one christmas, this book focuses on Laurie, Jack and Sarah – the three sides of a heart-warming and heart-breaking love triangle over a ten year period.

Having the book set over such a long period of time and fitting into a realistic number of pages is a herculean feat that Josie Silver does really well, skimming over months at a time, but still dropping in on our main characters at crucial times in their lives. Despite them being scattered all over the world there is a genuine, deep and loving relationship between them all, aside from any romantic entanglements, and real love for the characters from the author definitely shows through.

There are moments of joy and moments of tragedy in this book, but it is quite uplifting in this supposedly cold, modern world and even an old cynic like me couldn’t help but adore the ending!

Save until christmas if you must, but One Day in December is – at the time of writing – only 99p on Kindle, so it would be criminal not to grab it!

One Day in December is published by Penguin. To find out more about the book and author Josie Silver, you can connect with her on Twitter.

This post is part of the ongoing blog tour to celebrate the release of One Day in December, so do check out some of the reviews, extracts and guest posts at the blogs below.

Please note: I was sent a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are, as ever, my own.

This entry was posted in blog tour, Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.